Monday, October 4, 2010

Rollkicker Laydown 7" (1993 DeSoto Records)

Rollkicker Laydown 7" (1993 DeSoto Records)


The AMG description of this release reads as follows: 

Rollkicker Laydown was a post-hardcore version of the Traveling Wilburys. Well, maybe not quite, but the short-lived group did feature former members of Government Issue, Gray Matter, and Wool. Guitarist Tom Lyle (the Jeff Lynne of the group?), bassist/vocalist J. Robbins (then of Jawbox), drummer Peter Moffett, and background vocalist Geoff Turner  met up with post-punk producer extraordinaire Iain Burgess (Effigies, Big Black) to record 1993's No Voices in the Wire single for DeSoto, the label run by Robbins' Jawbox mates Kim Coletta and Bill Barbot. Both songs on the single matched the quality of any given moment of the members' more serious prior engagements. ~ Andy Kellman, All Music Guide

That pretty much sums this one up other than the fact that 2/3 of this project was also in the band Burning Airlines. I've loved this record since the day I purchased it. Sound-wise, it leans more towards early Jawbox/latter-day Government Issue than most of the other bands listed. This one is some way above average DC post-punk.

No comments:

Post a Comment